Welcome to Embassy of India to Austria and Montenegro - Official Visits
Official Visits
Home › India-Austria › Official Visits

See below the list of all official state visits from/to India and Austria.

Visits from Austria to India

  • 2016:
    At the invitation of H.E. Smt. Sushma Swaraj, External Affairs Minister of the Republic of India, H.E. Sebastian Kurz, Federal Minister of Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs of Republic of Austria visited India from 16-19 February, 2016. He was accompanied by H.E. Karlheinz Kopf, Second President of the National Council of Austria, H.E. Dr. Christoph Leitl, President of Federal Chamber of Commerce (WKO) of Austria, and a large business delegation. During the visit, delegation level talks were held between the two sides, with the Indian side led by EAM Smt. Sushma Swaraj.
    On the occasion, the cooperation agreement between the WKO (Austrian Federal Chamber of Commerce?) and FIICI (Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry)? has been renewed and converted into a Memorandum of Understanding between the chambers.
  • 2012:
    Accompanied by a top-class economic and technology delegation, Transport and Technology Minister Doris Bures travelled to New Delhi for four days. In the Indian capital, Bures met four Indian Ministers to present the excellent Austrian technology successes in the areas of transport, railways, Smart Cities and river shipping. On the occasion, the following agreements have been signed: 1) Letter of Intent for the area of transport technology with the Ministry for Roads, Surface Transport and Motorways and 2) Memorandum of Understanding with the Ministry of Shipping.
  • 2011:
    President of the Austrian National Council (Parliament) Mrs Barbara Prammer with a delegation of Members of Parliament in New Delhi, Hyderabad and Chennai (6 – 11 February 2011)
  • 2010:
    Austrian Vice Chancellor and Minister of Finance Mr Josef Pröll and Minister of Economy, Family and Youth Dr. Reinhold Mitterlehner with a business delegation in New Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore (17 – 20 February 2010)
  • 2007:
    Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mrs. Ursula PLASSNIK
    Opening of the Austrian Cultural Forum New Delhi, meetings with Prime Minister, Mr. Manmohan SINGH, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Pranap MUKHERJEE, Minister for Science, Mr. Kapil SIBAL und Minister for Social Welfare, Meira KUMAR (15th to 18th March)
    Vice-President of the Federal Council, Mrs. Anna Elisabeth HASELBACH and State Secretary, Mrs. Heidrun SILHAVY, participation in the IV. International Conference on Federalism (3rd to 7th November)
    Minister for Science and Research, Mr. Johannes HAHN, meeting with Minister for Science, Mr. Kapil SIBAL, signing of an agreement on scientific cooperation (Bangalore, New Delhi, 28th November to 2nd December)
    Minister for Economic Affairs, Mr. Martin BARTENSTEIN, meetings with Minister for Economic Affairs, Mr. Kamal NATH, Minister of Power, Mr. Sushilkumar SHINDE, Minister for New and Renewable Energy, Mr. Vilas Baburao MUTTEMWAR, Minister for Railways, Mr. Lalu PRASAD and Minister for Labour and Employment, Mr. Oscar FERNANDES (Chennai, Mumbai, New Delhi, 10th to 13th December)
  • 2006:
    Secretary-General for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Johannes KYRLE, participation in the first EU-India security dialogue (22th May), bilateral consultations (23thMay)
  • 2005:
    Federal President, Dr. Heinz FISCHER
    The Austrian Federal President, Dr. Heinz FISCHER, came on an official state visit to India from 16th to 21st February 2005. President FISCHER was accompanied by the Austrian Federal Minister for Economics and Labour, Mr. Martin BARTENSTEIN, the Chief Minister of Tyrol, Mr. Herwig VAN STAA, the Chief Minister of Salzburg, Mrs. Gabriele BURGSTALLER and the President of the Austrian Federal Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Christoph LEITL. The delegation included businessmen and representatives from the fields of science and culture.
    This first ever official State Visit of an Austrian President to India represented a milestone in the Austrian-Indian diplomatic relations.
  • 2003:
    Vice-President of the Federal Council, Mrs. Anna Elisabeth HASELBACH; Vice-President of the Parliament, Dr. Heinz FISCHER
  • 2002:
    Minister for Finance, Mr. Karl-Heinz GRASSER
  • 1999:
    Minister for Economic Affairs, Mr. Hannes FARNLEITNER
  • 1998:
    Minister of State Foreign Affairs, Ms. Benita FERRERO-WALDNER
  • 1997:
    Minister of State Foreign Affairs, Ms. Benita FERRERO-WALDNER; President of the Federal Chamber of Commerce, Mr. MADERTHANER
  • 1996:
    Federal Chancellor, Mr. Victor KLIMA; Minister of State Foreign Affairs, Ms. Benita FERRERO-WALDNER; President of the Federal Chamber of Commerce, Mr. MADERTHANER
  • 1995:
    Secretary General Foreign Ministry, Mr. SCHALLENBERG
  • 1994:
    Minister for Environment, Youth and Family, Ms. RAUCH-KALLAT
  • 1992:
    Minister for Economic Affairs, Mr. Wolfgang SCHÜSSEL
  • 1991:
    President of the Federal Council, Mrs. Anna Elisabeth HASELBACH
  • 1990:
    Vice Chancellor and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Alois MOCK
  • 1984:
    Federal Chancellor, Mr. Fred SINOWATZ
  • 1983:
    Vice Chancellor, Dr. Norbert STEGER
  • 1981:
    Minister for Foreign Affairs, Dr. Willibald PAHR
  • 1980:
    Federal Chancellor, Mr. Bruno KREISKY

Visits from India to Austria

  • 2011:
    Indian President Pratibha Devisingh Patil paid a state visit to Austria from 4 to 7 October 2011. She was accompanied by her husband Devisingh Ransingh Shekhawat and a large trade delegation. The political programme in Vienna included talks with Federal President Heinz Fischer, Federal Chancellor Werner Faymann and Speaker of Parliament Barbara Prammer. President Patil also participated in the formal opening of the Austrian-Indian Economic Forum staged in the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber (WKÖ).
  • 2009:
    Speaker of the Lok Sabha Mrs Meira Kumar in Vienna (14 – 17 September 2009), meetings with Federal President Mr Heinz Fischer, President of the Austrian National Council Mrs Barbara Prammer and Foreign Minister Mr Michael Spindelegger
  • 2004:
    Chief of Staff General N.C. VIJ; President of the Parliament of the State of Andhra Pradesh, REDDY; Minister for Water irrigation from the State of Andhra Pradesh, LAKSHMAJAH
  • 2003:
    Minister for Water supply and distribution from the State Andhra Pradesh, SRIHARI
  • 2002:
    Minister of State for Water, CHAKRAVARTY; Minister of State for Steel, TRIPATHI; Minister for Public Sector of the State Maharashtra, PATANKAR
  • 2001:
    President Audit Authority, SHUNGLU; Minister for Energy, PRABHU
  • 1999:
    President NARAYANAN
  • 1997:
    Minister for Steel, BAISHYA; Minister for Environment, SOZ
  • 1995:
    Minister for External Affairs, P. MUKHERJEE; Speaker, S. PATIL
  • 1994:
    Minister for Industrial Relations and Heavy Industry, Krishna SAHI
  • 1993:
    Minister for Culture, Mr. SATHE; Minister for Environment, NATH
  • 1984:
    Vice-President, M. HIDAYATULLAH
  • 1983:
    Prime Minister, Ms. Indira GANDHI; Minister for External Affairs, Mr. RAO; Minister for Energy, Mr. SHANKAR; Minister for Industry, Mr TIWARI; Minister for Defence, Mr. VENKATARAMAN
  • 1981:
    Minister for Energy, Mr. CHOWDHURY
  • 1978:
    Minister for External Affairs, Mr. A.B. VAJPAYEE, Minister for Industry, Mr. FERNANDES
  • 1971:
    Prime Minister, Ms. Indira GANDHI
  • 1965:
    Minister of State External Affairs, Ms. Lakshmi MENON
  • 1955:
    Prime Minister, Mr. Jawaharlal NEHRU
  • 1953:
    Vice-President, Mr. RADHAKRISHNAN
Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy | Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help
© 2017. Indian Embassy (Vienna), Government of India
Last updated on : 24-05-2017
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited.