Welcome to Embassy of India to Austria and Montenegro - UNCITRAL
Home › Multilateral › UNCITRAL

The Secretariat of UNICITRAL is the International Trade Law Branch of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations. It is based in Vienna International Centre.

UNCITRAL is a subsidiary body of the General Assembly of the United Nations which was established in 1966 with the general mandate to further the progressive harmonization and unification of the law of international trade. UNCITRAL has since prepared a wide range of conventions, model laws and other instruments dealing with the substantive law that governs trade transactions or other aspects of business law, which have an impact on international trade.

India’s Membership: UNCITRAL was originally composed of 29 States; its membership was expanded in 1973 to 36 States. Today, the Commission is composed of 60 member States elected by the General Assembly. Members of the Commission are elected for terms of 6 years, the terms of half the members expiring every 3 years. India is a member of UNCITRAL. The current term of India’s membership will run till 2016.

India’s position: India actively participates in the six Working Groups of UNCITRAL on Procurement; International arbitration & conciliation; Transport Law; Electronic Commerce, Insolvency Law, Security Interests.

The UNCITRAL Secretariat is headquartered in the Vienna International Center.
Vienna International Centre, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telephone: +43 1 26060 4060

Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy | Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help
© 2017. Indian Embassy (Vienna), Government of India
Last updated on : 24-05-2017
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited.